sad story

So the play I am working on will not be produced for IMF next semester because the due date is tomorrow and I am not finished, and will not be able to finish it to my satisfaction by 5pm. Which is annoying, because I had asked months ago for the due date and only found out what it was this last weekend (and not from the person I had originally asked). Serves me right for not being on the theater mailing list… although I had asked the person in charge of that months ago to put me on the listserv (it still has not happened). Is there a theme here?

Ugh, not as bitter as that might come across, but I am a little frustrated, especially with myself. I’d say that I wish I had more time to put into this… what I’d mean though is I wish that I had more focus. I’ve gotten a lot more writing done on this project than I have on any other so far, and I’ve spent a lot of time researching, rewriting, puzzling it out in my head, which I think is a necessary part of my process. But I’ve been letting distractions get in the way of actually writing – watching TV/movies while working on it, usually having smoked beforehand, or just getting distracted with the internet, more specifically mooning around on Facebook chat and hoping any of my (extremely nebulous) romantic interests will talk to me, which even I know is incredibly stupid. But somehow the thoughts you know are stupid are the most tenacious.

Oh well. I’ll do my best to get this play done by the end of the semester.

I don’t know if I can be a real writer.

Leave a Reply

